makingthetrek

another mom balancing faith, family, friends, work & life with coffee

Five Favorites… April 23, 2013

Last week was fun for me, so I say…do it again!!!  Joining in the Baby-Mooning Mama, Hallie @ Moxie Wife for 5 Favorites

This is week 3 for me in my Clean Eating/ Paleo / no processed crap.  Basically, I’ve not had bread (unless you count Ezekiel bread–of which I’ve had 4 slices in 3 weeks); no snacks/sweets/candy/soda/chocolate (unless you count chocolate protein powder in a smoothie and 6 chocolate chips in a spoonful of almond butter).  I’m here to tell you….holy cow, I’m surviving!!!!  I have energy!!!!  I’ve lost 5 pounds in 2 weeks!!!!  I mentioned a few things last Friday and here’s a few more…..5 to be exact:

  1. Hard boiled eggs.  Mix in some baking soda into the water to make for easier peeling.  Great snack!!!!imgres
  2. Avocado.  Mix it in my eggs.  Mix it in my smoothie.  Mix it in my salad.  One avocado goes a long way!!imgres-1
  3. MyFitnessPal.  I’m actually logging my food and exercise in aaaaaaaand it can be done on the phone or the ‘puter.  Snap!! (now you know my user name if you want to follow/join/encourage)Screen shot 2013-04-23 at 9.28.16 PM
  4. Paleomg.com    I’m getting so many great recipes off this site and my family even loves them.  FOR THE WIN!!!!
  5. Clean Eating magazine and website.  Another great resource for family friendly recipes.  If I can’t get them on board this isn’t going to work and I refuse to be a short order cook making separate dinners for them and myself.  Nope.

There it is.  5 quick and easy things I am loving these past few weeks, let’s hope I keep loving them!!!!  Have some good clean eating tips???  Bring it!!!

Now go check out Hallie and all the favorites!!

 

6 Responses to “Five Favorites…”

  1. Good for you Tracy! I’m trying to stick with basically the same type of eating plan, and it’s hard. Funny you mentioned boiled eggs–I just rediscovered them yesterday. :-)

    • tracye1 Says:

      If you remove the yolk and put some hummus or salsa inside….mmmmmmmmmm so good!!!

      • Tammi Says:

        Boiled eggs must be the thing. After getting your text this past weekend, I vowed to try and work on clean eating myself and boiled some eggs for the week. So far so good, although it has only been 3 days:-) Proud of you Trace, keep up the good work!! xoxo

      • tracye1 Says:

        one day at a time, sister, one. day. at. a. time. Eggs are amazing, but planning is KEY!

  2. Micaela Says:

    What a great tip about baking soda! I HATE peeling them! Gonna try this ASAP. And good for you! We’ve been doing a lot better with eating the past few weeks and even though I’ve lost no weight, I feel better. Good stuff.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 260 other followers