making the trek

Trekking through life: Faith, family, friends and a whole lot of coffee!

Read-o-rama! September 4, 2011

Filed under: Lessons — tracye1 @ 7:04 PM

I’ve been on a reading frenzy over the past couple of weeks.  What that translates into is: I have begun and finished two books in a row WITHOUT picking up anything else in the meantime.  It’s a bad habit I have. (hello, my name is Tracy and I have a little book addiction…..)  I often have 3 or 4 books going at one time and it takes FORever to finish them!  Go figure…

The two I’ve just finished are both by Og Mandino and prior to this I’ve never read anything by him before.  I must say, I love him.  He captured me hook, line and sinker from the get go.  Hubby gets a “thumbs-up” for his book recommendations!

The Christ Commission, by Og Mandino.  I found it captivating and hard to put down.  A story of an author known for writing mysteries and he receives a wish to travel back in time to six years after Christ’s death and resurrection, taking one week to investigate if The Resurrection was a hoax.  Fascinating history, bringing the Apostles to life with other biblical characters along with some fictional leeway on the author’s part, but nonetheless, I was up late several nights reading this one with no regrets on any lost sleep!

The first book I actually  read was a quick read by Mandino, The Greatest Salesman in the World.  The setting was just prior to and after the birth of Christ.  It was a book chock full o’ great habits in living successfully and purposefully;  becoming the women (or men) God intended for us to be.   They are simple steps.  They are repeated daily.  They are good habits.  Mandino does a PHENOMENAL job in expounding upon each point, inspiring the reader to take hold of these lessons and incorporate them as their own.   In a nutshell here they are:

  • The first lesson was in becoming a SLAVE to good habits.
  •  Greet each day with love in my heart.
  • Persist until successful. I am here for a purpose (we all need to OWN this one!).
  • Live each day as it is my last.
  • I will be master of my emotions.
  • Laugh at the world, for this too WILL pass.
  • Don’t settle for less, think BIG.
  • Act now.
  • Above all, the best and most important is always saved for last:  Pray for guidance.
Happy Reading!!


 

Leave a Reply

